Need a synonym for 'dessert'

toniga

Mexico, Spanish
Please could anybody help me? I need a synonym for the word 'dessert' which I cannot find. I am told there is at least one used by the British. I have no context except the description I found in the dictionary :"Something sweet that is eaten after the main part of a meal", hosever I found no synonym.

Thank you all in advance.

Toniga

• Alpha0ne

England English/Spanish
    Hi Toniga,
    The words that come to mind are: "Sweet" or "afters". I will let you know if I get any more sweet thoughts...
    Hope I could help.
    Cheers!

tim

Australia, English
    "Sweet" would be most appropriate.

I work in a restaurant and alternate between offering people the "dessert menu" and the "sweets menu", depending on which phrase I feel like using...

Mr X

Australia, English
    What about 'pudding?'

It's not very sophisticated, but you might hear a kid ask after dinner, "What's for pudding?"

Again, it depends on how you want to use it, but it's an option.
    Mr X.

dave

UK - English
    Yes, pudding is the most common in BrE, and is used generically (i.e. not just for 'puddings', if that makes sense). Afters is also very common.

Dessert and sweet are both fairly formal and high register, and would not normally be used outside a restaurant context, or very posh dinner party (or am I just betraying my Northern origins?!).

Child: What's for pudding mum?
    Mum: Ice cream or trifle. But you're not getting any pudding until you've eaten your sprouts.

Tormenta

Argentina-Español
    dave said:
    Yes, pudding is the most common in BrE, and is used generically (i.e. not just for 'puddings', if that makes sense). Afters is also very common.

Dessert and sweet are both fairly formal and high register, and would not normally be used outside a restaurant context, or very posh dinner party (or am I just betraying my Northern origins?!).

Child: What's for pudding mum?