nett, Sie kennenzulernen!

< Previous | Next >

Anne Frank

Russian
Hi! I started learning German, and wonder why in the sentence Nett, Sie kennenzulernen! the "zu" is right between the verbs kennen and lernen? what's the reason for it?
P.S. Pay attention that I'm not as good at German right now as want to be in the future, so please write in English.

• bearded

between the verbs kennen and lernen? what's the reason for it?
    Hi
    It is not between two verbs: kennenlernen is one verb, in which the part ''kennen'' works as a separable particle (prefix). In such verbs (as you will surely learn later on) the prefix is separated from the rest of the verb in certain moods and tenses - and, if there is 'zu', this is placed between the prefix and the main verb.
    kennenlernen - Wörterbuch
    Some examples:

Ich wollte sie kennenlernen
    Ich lernte sie kennen
    Es freut mich, Sie kennenzulernen.

Anne Frank

Russian
    Hi
    It is not between two verbs: kennenlernen is one verb, in which the part ''kennen'' works as a separable particle (prefix). In such verbs (as you will surely learn later on) the prefix is separated from the rest of the verb in certain moods and tenses - and, if there is 'zu', this is placed between the prefix and the main verb.
    kennenlernen - Wörterbuch
    Some examples:

Ich wollte sie kennenlernen
    Ich lernte sie kennen
    Es freut mich, Sie kennenzulernen.
    So what does zu mean here? Is it an infinitive?

Hutschi

On a side note: You should avoid the word "nett" because it can mean both "nice" and "nice but a little dumb". ...
    Is this regional? Or a kind of sociolect? I would never think so in such context. (Nett, Sie kennenzulernen. Schön Sie kennenzulernen. "Es freut mich, sie kennenzulernen." is often just an empty phrase (Floskel). So there is not much difference. It is just a friendly remark at the beginning.

Last edited:

Anne Frank

Russian