Non-English Wikipedias

Lombard Beige

English, Italy
Hi,

I am an English-language translator based in Italy, and I use Wikipedia regularly for my work. To be exact, I consult Wiki in every language I can understand. I am also in contact with people involved in editing Wikipedia in the various Italian regional languages.

In that context, we were discussing why some Wikipedias are more successful than others. It was suggested, for example, that Maltese speakers, given their fluency in English, would tend to consult the English-language version more than that in their own language. But if this is true, why are the Dutch-language and the Nordic language Wikipedias so successful?

I think most people would agree that the Dutch and the Nordics are among the best (non-native) English speakers. So what is the explanation?

I have my own (partial) theory, but I would like to read some other opinions before expressing it.

Regards
Lombard Beige

• jess oh seven

UK/US English
    Even though Dutch and Nordic language-speakers are generally highly fluent in English I am sure they would choose their own language over their second one whenever it is available. Not only because of their greater understanding of it, but because both Dutch and Nordic or Scandinavian languages are spoken by a relatively small amount of people concentrated in one part of the world, and I am positive that they take extra pride in their native languages and want to promote material published in those languages and not have them overrun by ever-imposing English.

xarruc

England
    The proportion of users able to create a wikipedia in a language is related to [how many people speak that language] x [the proportion with suitable access to the internet (home computer, permanent connection)] x [the proportion of people who want to write].

So population, wealth and "communal sense of giving/enjoyment of teaching"