northwest or North-West

Ryan Wang

Chinese
Here is the audio clip: << --- I got two questions from IELTS5 Test4 Listening section1 --- >>

Advisor: Which area do you think you will prefer?
Student:Well, I'm studying right in the centre, but I really like to live in the north-west.

Question- Preferred location: in the ____________

Question is 'northwest'. The formation of this word I found in Cambridge Dictionary was ' northwest', while what the transcript of IELTS has given is 'north-west', but the only given answer for the blank is ' North-West' and what I filled in is 'northwest'.

Why is it a capital N and W and with a dash? I really do not understand..
So what do you guys think of this question and the answer?

Another question is below:

<< --- second question removed --- >>

By the way, the requirements for the answer is write NO MORE THAN THREE WORDS AND/OR NUMBERS for each answer.

Appreciate all your input!

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Wordnip

British English
    Capitalised, North-West would be a proper noun, the name of a particular place. Without capitals it would be a region but not necessarily the proper name given to it. 'northwest' without a capital is, again, just a region (the same term can be a compass point/direction).

<< --- one topic per thread --- >>

Last edited by a moderator:

Ryan Wang

Chinese
    Thank you Wordnip.
    But how can I know they're talking about a particular place or just a region?

And I consulted two dictionaries, Cambridge and Oxford, where I had different result of 'northwest'
    In Cambridge, I searched 'north-west' but it only gave me 'northwest'. But when I searched 'northwest' or 'north-west' in Oxford, I was given only 'north-west'. So I was wondering which one was the correct one in writing, or both of them were alright?

PaulQ

UK
    English - England