Old English: Gæð a wyrd swa hio scel (pronunciation)

Remus

French
Topic: Old English: Pronunciation of " Gæð a wyrd swa hio scel "
Added by Cagey, moderator

Hello, I know this isn't " real " english, this is old english I think, but I hope I'm not off-topic :oops:
So, I'd like to know the pronunciation of this phrase, thank you very much, have a nice day :)

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Egmont

English - U.S.
    This is indeed Old English. Specifically, it's from the old (written sometime from the 8th to the 10th century) poem Beowulf. It means "Fate (wyrd) goes (gæð) as (swa) it (hio) will (scel)," more or less.

The last time I studied Old English seriously was over 50 years ago, and there are few Old English native speakers these days whom we can ask to say this - but, as best I recall, scholars think it would have sounded something like "Gath a word swah hyoo shell." Perhaps others know better.

entangledbank

English - South-East England
    If the IPA is of use to you, a closer rendering is [gæ:θ ɑ: wyɾd swɑ: hio ʃɛl]. Hio and scel are variants of the words usually written (in today's writing of Old English) as heo "she, it" = fate and scel "shall, must". The little word a means "always".

tewlwolow

Polish - Poland
    If the IPA is of use to you, a closer rendering is [gæ:θ ɑ: wyɾd swɑ: hio ʃɛl]. Hio and scel are variants of the words usually written (in today's writing of Old English) as heo "she, it" = fate and scel "shall, must". The little word a means "always".
    I admit that my knowledge of Old English is purely through Norrønt, but doesn't "ð" grapheme denote a voiced dental fricative /ð/, as opposed to unvoiced /θ/?