Pan Jezus wyróżnił spośród swoich uczniów Szymona

Dennis Lee

Hong Kong
Hi all! I have a question.
I've found a sentence:
Pan Jezus wyróżnił spośród swoich uczniów Szymona, któremu zmienił imię na Piotr.
2019-01-15.png

But I don't understand Pan Jezus wyróżnił spośród swoich uczniów Szymona. I have little knowledge of Polish, so could you please explain it to me? Thanks a lot.

• anthox

English - Northeast US
    Literally, "Jesus distinguished from among his disciples Simon." "Wyrożnić" means to distinguish, set apart, single out, draw special attention to.

The whole sentence would be better shifted around in English: "From among his disciples, Jesus distinguished Simon, whose name he changed to Peter." Or, "Jesus distinguished Simon from among his disciples, changing his name to Peter."

Dennis Lee

Hong Kong
    Literally, "Jesus distinguished from among his disciples Simon." "Wyrożnić" means to distinguish, set apart, single out, draw special attention to.

The whole sentence would be better shifted around in English: "From among his disciples, Jesus distinguished Simon, whose name he changed to Peter." Or, "Jesus distinguished Simon from among his disciples, changing his name to Peter."
    Dear authox,

Thanks for your explanation. By the way, I want to know how to understand the "distinguished Simon from among his disciples".

Best regards
    Dennis Lee

< Off topic comment removed. Cagey, moderator >

Last edited by a moderator:

WesołaBiedronka

Polish
    While "wyróżnić" can simply refer to the act of making someone look distinctive (so he or she sticks out from the crowd) it's more commonly used in this meaning: to give prominence or distinction (honor etc.). For example if the teacher starts praising a student in front of class you can use "wyróżnić". Or if someone receives an important task no ordinary or average person would receive, "wyróżnić" applies to.

zaffy

Polish