Past Perfect Continuous vs. Past Continuous

deepuips

Please look at the following sentences

Are the following sentences correct at all? Is there any scenario or context where they are right? I know I could easily use simple past, but I want to know if the following usage is right or not? If yes, then in what is the difference between them and simple past usage of these sentences?

1. They were fighting Nazis for three days.

2. I was studying for six hours yesterday.

3. I was working there since I graduated from school.

4. Dad was working in his garden all morning.

5.During the mid-50s, real estate speculators were buying all the swampland in Central Florida, and innocent people were investing all their money in bogus development projects.

Please help me. Thanks

• Keith Bradford

English (Midlands UK)
    All these are correct, except for no.3.

In fact, the simple past doesn't work for the situation in no.3 either, you need either: I have worked there since I graduated from school (...and I still work there); or I worked there after I graduated from school (...but not now).

Shoorveeryoddha

India-Hindi
    Keith Bradford sir,

Can we rephrase the #3 in the following way

I had been working there since I graduated from school.

Also, would replacing the above past progressive tense with simple past tense make any difference in any way? Or can we use them interchangeably with any difference between the meaning and emphasis?

Thank you.

Keith Bradford

English (Midlands UK)
    I had been working there since I graduated from school is OK. So would be I had worked there since I graduated from school. But using the word "since" demands some form of the perfect, continuous or otherwise, so you can't use the simple past tense.

Shoorveeryoddha

India-Hindi
    Thank you Keith sir.

What would the difference between the following be

2. They fought Nazis for three days.

Can they be used interchangeably?

Thank you.

Keith Bradford

English (Midlands UK)