past tense perfect endings

labruja24601

United States; English
Hello!
I was wondering if anyone would know some way to remember the past tense perfect endings for verbs in Latin, ex. bibit, dormit, etc.? I am fairly new to Latin, and after learning some of the endings in class today (with no way to memorize them) my head is spinning! :) Any help would be much appreciated! Thank you! :)

• Kael

U.S.
    I'm not sure what you mean by "past tense perfect," but to remember the conjugation of verbs like dormit, just memorize this:

dorm-i dorm-imus
    dorm-isti dorm-istis
    dorm-it dorm-erunt

It kind of rhymes when you think about it!

wonderment

English
    Hola labruja,

I don’t know how to sugar-coat this—there’s no short-cut or easy way to learn Latin. :eek: You just have to buckle down and actively memorize the paradigms. Make flash cards, and recite the verb conjugations aloud and repetitively; this will help fix them in memory. Try to think of them as incantations to ward off your dizzy spells. :)

The back of your textbook should have all the paradigms for noun declensions and verb conjugations. You can also find them at this link. And this link has a useful verb conjugator.

(The perfect active endings Kael gave you are correct, but the verb stem should be dormiv-, from the 3rd principal part.)

Vale!

Amada

Italy Italian
    vidi
    vidisti
    vidit
    vidimus
    vidistis
    viderunt

Past tense of videre (to see)
    One more thing to remember: the accent! On this PC I don't have Latin fonts to write correctly the "quantity of vocals" (long or short).

Flaminius

coclea mod
    日本語 / japāniski / יפנית
    Hello Amada,
    Like you said, one should pay a lot of attention to the length of vowels in Latin. Regarding perfect forms, some verbs (just like this videre) have the perfect stems that are only different from the present stems by the length of the vowels.

Here are the perfect forms of videre (long vowels are marked by macron):
    vīdī