Persian: Does it differentiate between these two Arabic letters هـ-ح?

panjabigator

Am. English
Does Farsi differentiate between the two "h" sounds from Arabic? In Hindi/Urdu, they are not differentiated and are pronounced as "h" and not "7," although they are spelled as they would be in Arabic.

• DrLindenbrock

Italian
    I beg to differ, Setwale. I don't believe that Farsi distinguishes the sound of these two letters.
    I agree with you Palomnik...I studied a little Persian and what I always found is that they sound alike.
    Also, I have an Iranian friends who I "use" to hear Persian sounds and he pronounces a word like حساب as if it were a ه... and, I hope nowbody gets offended by this, he always laughs when he hears Arabic speakers because of how they pronounce the letter ح... he has the same reaction most non-Arabs have...even textbooks for beginners say that the ح sounds like "breathing forcibly from the throat as if cleaning glasses" . :)

Ok, let me suggest a more objective fact:
    in Arabic the two letters are called حاء and هاء... romanized, it would be 7A2 and hA2.
    in Persian, however, as the letters sounds the same, this would not be enough to distinguish them! So, colloquially:
    ح = he jimi / حه جیمی ["he" like a "jim", because it's like the latter but without the dot]
    ه = he-ye do-cheshm / هـ ی دوچشم ["he" with two eyes, because of how the letter looks].

From what I heard, it seems that when referring to "he", most Persian speakers assume it's ه. Otherwise, if they mean ح, they say "he jimi".

Enjoy posting :)

roh3x2n

Fars
    Yeah, but it depends on regions where the langauge is spoken.
    In some of part of Afghanistan/Iran, there is no big difference, because of the accent.

panjabigator

Am. English
    Yeah, but it depends on regions where the langauge is spoken.
    In some of part of Afghanistan/Iran, there is no big difference, because of the accent.