Ph. D. - Professor

offsider

Spanish
Hello,
This is my first time here, please help me with the following:

In the abstract of my thesis, I want to thank a professor. He also has a Ph.D. in Math. So my doubt is if the following is correct.

I would like to thank Professor Charles Smith, Ph. D., for his .....

I am not sure the order in which I should mention his name, professor and Ph. D.

Thank you in advance for your help.

• Católico

Mexican Spanish
    Hi.

The way you put it seems just right in my opinion. If it was a doctor, it would likewise be, i.e., Dr. Charles Gorman, Ph. D.

Saludos

Glenfarclas

English (American)
    You do not use both "Dr." and "Ph.D." at the same time. The way Offsider has it written ("Professor Charles Smith, Ph.D.") is correct. I know some countries -- Germany, famously -- are obsessed with degrees and would be shocked by the thought of leaving off postnominal letters. In the U.S., my experience is that it is perfectly well understood that almost every professor in an academic discipline will have a Ph.D., and consequently I think in a sentence you'd be more likely to see just "Professor Charles Smith" than "Professor Charles Smith, Ph.D." But you can certainly use the letters if you want to.

Last edited:

Fabulist

Banned
    American English
    It's nice to acknowledge the assistance of your thesis advisor in your abstract, although I am not sure that it is appropriate to do so. The purpose of an abstract is for other scholars to determine whether they should obtain and read the entire thesis (or dissertation, book, or article). Abstracts usually have word limits, so any acknowledgement will take away from the information you can provide to other scholars about the thesis itself.