play /pretend to be an expert

alphabet song

Korean
Hello!
Let me ask you some questions.

If I am not an expert but want to make others think so, which expression is proper, play to be an expert or pretend to be an expert?

Thank you in advance!

• Florentia52

Modwoman in the attic
    English - United States
    We need to see the complete sentence, but I can't imagine a sentence in which "play to be an expert" would be correct.

alphabet song

Korean
    We need to see the complete sentence, but I can't imagine a sentence in which "play to be an expert" would be correct.
    Thank you so much!
    I'm not a native speaker. While I'm just studying about the verb 'play', I found the following sentence, 'I decided it was safer to play dead.'
    So I wondered if 'play to be an expert' is proper expression, and wanted to compare it with ' pretend to be an expert' . So you don't use this expression, right?

Florentia52

Modwoman in the attic
    English - United States
    As I said above, I can't imagine a sentence in which "play to be an expert" would be correct.

In this forum, we don't discuss phrases out of context. If you can come up with sentence that uses the phrase "play to ben an expert" (or perhaps "play the expert"), we will be able to be more helpful.

"Play dead" is a set phrase, which means it's not easily used as a basis for similar phrases.

alphabet song

Korean
    As I said above, I can't imagine a sentence in which "play to be an expert" would be correct.

In this forum, we don't discuss phrases out of context. If you can come up with sentence that uses the phrase "play to ben an expert" (or perhaps "play the expert"), we will be able to be more helpful.

"Play dead" is a set phrase, which means it's not easily used as a basis for similar phrases.
    Ok! " I hate the man who plays to be an expert."
    Is This sentence correct?

velisarius

British English (Sussex)
    Thank you so much!