Please accept our apologies for this error

Tommy1971

UK English
How do you say;
"Please accept our apologies for this error"?
Is it something like:
"Siamo spiacenti per questo errore."?
(I'm no expert but I don't like the way that sounds!)

• deb86

Italian
    Hi again,

"Please accept our apologies for this error" means: Vi preghiamo di scusarci per l'errore.

"Siamo spiacenti per questo errore." means: We apologise for this error.

deb86

Italian
    This one works fine. Of course there are alternatives. Off the top of my head:

"Ci scusiamo per l'inconveniente/errore"
    "La prego/preghiamo di accettare le mie/nostre scuse"

and so on.

Obviously we have many many many alternatives in Italian to say that.
    These all works perfectly!

Rival

English - UK
    This one works fine. Of course there are alternatives. Off the top of my head:

"Ci scusiamo per l'inconveniente/errore"
    "La prego/preghiamo di accettare le mie/nostre scuse"

and so on.
    I often hear this on the Italian Railways, and it always irritates me.

You can't 'excuse' yourselves -- only I can excuse/pardon/forgive you for the inconvenience/delay you have caused me.

But, of course, I'm normally vulnerable to irritation when I've been waiting for a train that is 45 minutes late. :D

I often hear this on the Italian Railways, and it always irritates me.

You can't 'excuse' yourselves -- only I can excuse/pardon/forgive you for the inconvenience/delay you have caused me.

But, of course, I'm normally vulnerable to irritation when I've been waiting for a train that is 45 minutes late. :D
    As a commuter I can understand you, but come on, "mi scuso" shouldn't be taken literally. When you say "mi scuso" it's not like you are justifying yourself or demanding to be forgiven or anything. It's just another way of saying "I apologize".
    The problem with Trenitalia is that after all these years of delays, filthy trains and much more, apologies are just not enough.

Tommy1971

UK English