pluperfect subjunctive

unprimesuspect

US
Japanese
Hello everyone. A newbie here.

My roommate and I had a discussion on subjunctive mood a few days ago; since then, this has been really bothering me. Anyhow, his point was as follows:

Present subjunctive: 1) If I were him, I would clean this room.

Pluperfect subjunctive: 2) If I had been him, I would have cleaned this room by yesterday.

What I am really confused about is determining the correct tense of the main clause. What if I put an extra 'had' in there?:

3) If I had been him, I would have had cleaned this room by yesterday.

Is there a difference in meaning or is #3 simply an incorrect sentence?

I'm also wondering, what is the difference, if any, between:

4) If he had been faithful, we would be together right now.

and

5) if he had been faithful, we would have been together (meaning we would be together right now).

They both sound correct to me. More I think about this, more my head hurts. :confused: :( Please help!

• Dimcl

Canadian English
    Present subjunctive: 1) If I were him, I would clean this room.:tick:

Pluperfect subjunctive: 2) If I had been him, I would have cleaned this room by yesterday.

What I am really confused about is determining the correct tense of the main clause. What if I put an extra 'had' in there?:

In fact, I believe that both 2) and 3) are incorrect. You have to use "have had", but the sentence needs to be rearranged ie:

"If I had been him, I would have had this room cleaned by yesterday."

and

5) if he had been faithful, we would have been together (meaning we would be together right now).
    4) is correct, 5) is not. If you use the past tense ("would have been together"), it's impossible to mean that you would be together right now.

And welcome to the forum, Unprimesuspect.

unprimesuspect

US
    Japanese
    Thanks for your reply, Dimcl.

Hmmm... To me, this sounds I would have asked someone else to clean the room instead of actually cleaning it myself.