po polsku (understanding the grammar behind this phrase)

zorba111

English - Ireland
I'm a beginner at Polish, with a month of Duolingo behind me, a couple of visits to the country, and a lot of polish friends to practice with.

I'm trying to undertand the mechanics of "po polsku" here. So I know that "po" is a preposition that takes the accusative or the locative case.

My question: is "polsku" (in whatever case it may be, acc. or loc.) an adjective that has been turned into a noun (e.g. in Spanish "el bueno" - the good one), or the noun itself for the language of Polish. And if the latter, what is the base word and its gender.

I ask this because on google translate, when I look up "Polish" it gives me "Polskie", also "język polski" (the polish language, where polish is an adjective).

I can't get a handle on the gender for "Polskie". because when I try my usual strategy of discovering a gender by putting "good" in from of it, google translates "good Polish" as "dobra Polski" indicating feminine gender. But the feminine endings for acc. and loc. cases do not feature "u" (as in "po polsku").

From the endings, "polsku" is either masc. loc., neut. loc.,

or possibly masc. acc. (if it is treated as an "animate" object, and devolved to the masc. gen.).... but I think this is unlikely....

I checked the adjectival endings too, and none of them have "u", apart from some dative endings, which could not possibly apply here.

I'm tending to think google translate is giving me a bum steer as to the gender of the word and its actually male or neuter... but then the stem seems to indicate an -e ending rather than -u in the loc. Help!

Sorry, I'm trying to reverse engineer the sentence from my limited resources...

• Karton Realista

Polish - Poland
    Polsku is not an adjective, but an adverb.
    Po polsku is called wyrażenie przyimkowe in Polish (po polsku :D ), which is translated to English as adverbial expression. It doesn't have a gender, of course.