political insiders and rank-and-file

Chigo

french
hello everybody !

i'm studying an article:two cheers for american democracy (lexington) the economist, in which appear these two political words about which i'd need information.
i'd like to know what's the difference between a " political insider" and someone who's part of the "rank-and-file", which i know to be also called the "grass-root" (or the necessary establishment of a party). Do insiders and and members of the grass-root rank equally? i think both words mean the same thing.
here are the sentences :"In most countries party leaders are chosen by political insiders. In america rank-and-file party members get to choose."
So doesn't it work the same way in america and in other countries ?

thanks

• clairet

England & English (UK version)
    "rank-and-file party members" are the mass of party members who, in most democracies, support the party but have few ambitions (or prospects) of joining its leadership; "political insiders" in the party are the people in the leadership. "Political insiders" has a more general meaning too, which includes all the people with inside knowledge of what is really going on in politics - so it includes journalists (some!), academics (some!) and some other groups as well as leading party members.

Chigo

french
    thank you for your very detailed answer clairet ! in fact i was trying to figure out which way of electing was fairest, and it seems that "lexington" wanted to extol the american system, making it looks more genuine and less strategic or secret than the "other countries' " system.

Keith Bradford

English (Midlands UK)
    Fairest??? It all depends...

In the UK 30 or 40 years ago, policy in the Labour party was decided at national conference, voted on by delegates sent from local branches (the local branches were the rank and file, i.e. the total membership).