Progressive Tense

I know that German doesn't have a progressive tense but I am aware that one can say:

Ich bin am Kochen.
Ich bin zum Park beim Rennen.

In Hammer's GGaU 3rd Edition (1991) it notes that these are both considered substandard by Duden. I recently purchased Hammer's GGaU 5th Edition (2011) and that note is gone but it does note that using beim is 'Standard German' while using am is a Northwest German revision but has spread across the county and is now widely recognized. I've seen am much more that beim when used to show progressive tense so I was wondering is this now standard German (used in essays, speeches, during class, talking to teachers etc) and are beim and am both completely interchangeable in that sense?

Thanks!

• perpend

Banned
    American English
    It takes a sec to get what you mean. The professionals will weigh in soon.

From my experience (in Munich), I'd use these:
    Ich bin am Kochen. -oder- Ich koche gerade.
    Ich bin im Park beim* Joggen. -oder- Ich jogge gerade im Park.

*"am" sounds weird to me there.

I can't really explain why!

Hutschi

Senior Member
    Ich bin beim Kochen. = Ich koche gerade.
    Ich bin am Kochen. = Ich koche gerade. (Aber das ist oft eine Redewendung: Ich bin gerade äußerst wütend.)

Ich bin zum Park beim Rennen. (Es gibt verschiedene Rennen, zum Beispiel Pferderennen und Wettrennen. Im Prinzip sind es Rennveranstaltungen. Es bedeutet meist: Ich bin im Park und schaue dem Rennen zu.

Ich bin am Kochen. -oder- Ich koche gerade.

Man sieht, dass die Formen nicht eindeutig sind, die aktive Verbform, eventuell mit "gerade" ist meist besser.

In Einzelfällen wird aber die "beim"- bzw. die "am"-Form verwendet.

Bitte störe mich jetzt nicht. Ich bin beim Briefschreiben.
    Ich bin am Arbeiten.
    Ich bin beim Brilleputzen.
    Ich bin mit Brilleputzen beschäftigt.

Sehr oft wird lediglich die normale Verbform verwendet und mit der Zeitangabe "gerade" ergänzt.