pronunciation: /æ/ vowel (as in TRAP, cat) [+ /a/ ]

fabry

Italy - Italian
Hello people!
I studied at school that both the American and the British English have this phoneme "æ", but I couldn't help noticing that Americans pronounce it differently than the British and vice versa. To me it sounds like the British pronounce it in a more "open" way, so closer to an "a", the American, instead, closer to an "e".
So I ask you native speakers if it's just a wrong impression I have, or if there is really a difference between the two ways of pronouncing the same phoneme..?

Thanks

<Edited for standard capitalisation, as pointed out by GreenWhiteBlue below. Nat, moderator>

Last edited by a moderator:
  • There is no single British or single American pronunciation of anything. If one looks in Britain and in America, one will find people pronouncing any given word all sorts of ways.

By the way, if you don't mind a minor correction, the sentence should have been:
    Americans pronounce it differently than from the British

Matching Mole

England, English
    I absolutely agree with GWB, and for these reasons I don't think it's fruitful to discuss it here. The history and distribution of differences in the pronunciation of the letter "a" and all its phonetic variations is extremely complex: I would say mind boggling.

There is an article here which may help you: Phonological history of English short A

< Edited to replace link that no longer worked with one that does. Cagey, moderator >

Jiung

Chinese, Taiwan
    Dear all,

I am so confused by the sound æ as in American and in British accent, for example, as I check the word "flag" in Oxford online dictionary,
    it shows both the British and the American sound are "flæɡ",
    flag_1 noun - Definition, pictures, pronunciation and usage notes | Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary at OxfordLearnersDictionaries.com

But as I click to hear the actual pronunciation, they sound completely different.