Pronunciation of Дело

stego

Italian
Hi all, total beginner of Russian here. I'm working on alphabet and pronunciation. From what I understand, Дело is stressed on the first syllable, so shouldn't the letter е be pronounced something like /je/ (strong pronunciation)? But, I had a listen on forvo and elsewhere and to me it sounds like /iə/. Isn't /iə/ (roughly) supposed to be the pronunciation of the letter е when it *precedes* the stressed syllable (weak pronunciation)?

• Awwal12

Russian
    Дело is stressed on the first syllable, so shouldn't the letter е be pronounced something like /je/ (strong pronunciation)?
    The "iotated letters" (е, ё, ю, я) represent /j/ + the vowel only word-initially, after vowel letters or after ъ and ь.
    After consonant letters they usually mean that the consonant is soft, if applicable (ш, ж and ц cannot be soft), and followed by the vowel.
    де - /dʲe/ (/dʲ/ + /e/)
    дье - /dʲje/ (/dʲ/ + /j/ + /e/)
    дэ - /de/ (/d/ + /e/)
    However, bear in mind that "e" is orthographically unusual, because
    - it may actually not soften the preceding consonant in many loanwords and foreign names (e.g. "Аден" /áden/ ['adən]);
    - it often stands for "ё".

Stress influences the actual quality of the vowel sound according to the general phonological and phonetic rules (unstressed /e/ undergoes various patterns of reduction depending on the softness of the preceding consonant; may be pronounced as [ɪ], [ɨ̞], [ə] depending on the exact position), but it doesn't directly affect the quality of the consonant and surely cannot affect the presence or absence of the /j/ consonant (because it's pretty much pure orthography).

Last edited:

stego

Italian
    @Awwal12 thank you for your detailed answer. Looks like I need to study phonology a bit more in depth. I'll come back to your answer as I learn more :)

Şafak

Ciao!