Reasons why these parts of the sentences are accusative

< Previous | Next >

jaehee0113

Korean
Hi, I am studying the four different changes (acc, dat, gen, nom) and I have encountered the following sentences that are accusative but I do not understand why these are accusative. Any helps would be great..!

Masculine: Wir stellen die Leiter neben den Mülleimer.
Feminine: Ich habe den Schlüssel neben die Kerze gelegt.
Neutral: Die Katze hat neben das Katzenklo gepinkelt.
Plural: Er wird seinen Sohn neben die anderen Kinder setzen.

For example, the first sentence is saying that the rubbish bin (MUlleimer) is a accusative noun but I think this is a dative noun because the verb stellen is not directly pointing it to a rubbish bin (i.e. We put the ladder next to the rubbish bin which means that put's direct object is rather the ladder). ..Am I correct? or Am I incorrect?

please let me know !!! I am really desperate right now!

• berndf

German (Germany)
    There are a number of prepositions, neben being one of them, that govern the dative case, if location (spacial or temporal) or environment are described and accusative when target, aim or goal are described.

All four sentences talk about the target of an action and not of its location. That's why you need accusative. Wir stellen die Leiter neben den Mülleimer means that the ladder isn't yet next to the rubbish bin but as a result of the action it will be.

If you know English well, it is easiest to understand, when you think of the preposition in: German in+dative is equivalent to English in and German in+accusative is equivalent to English into. More precisely: where in and into are both possible in English, in+accusative is used in German; where only in is possible in English, in+dative is used in German.

Dan2

US
    English (US)
    Crossed with berndf, but perhaps this post will be of some further help, so I'll leave it.