Romaji Magazine

mooeypoo

English, Hebrew
Hello,

I'm currently studying japanese on my free time. I'm doing quite well with the pimsleur Japanese I but I would like to broaden my knowledge and vocab, and to 'experience' the language; I'm now watching lots of manga, even if its just to listen to the language without completely understanding, but I also search for a good magazine. The thing is that I dont yet know how to read the japanese characters.
I was told it takes a while to learn (and it looks kindof hard, too). Soooo.. anyone here knows of a good Romanji Magazine? Whether online or printed? Free or Paid for..?

Thanks all!

Domo Arigato Gozaymas!

~mooey

• SpiceMan

Castellano, Argentina
    Learning hiragana and katakana took me 1 week. Just write down anything, any sentence you find in japanese to hiragana. By doing so you learn the syllabaries, grasp some grammar, you re-read words you forgot, reassure the knowledge you have already, and you can correct things you didn't get correctly at first before.

Also japanese language has a lot less syllables (actually sounds) than languages that use the roman alphabet such as English, Spanish, etc. This gives you a LOT of homophones, and while you can get lots of hints of what word the speaker is refering to by context, intonation, gestures, etc. articles usually use a richer vocabulary (as usual in any language) using lots of kanji compounds, which is hard to write unambiguously in romanji (and even only kana).

Even books, games, etc for very young kids use some kanji due to this limitation (of course, not in the same amount that those for adults), usually with furigana to help the child to be able read it.

That said, I've never heard of such kind of thing like magazine, etc. in romanji. When not a very simple subject, it would be probably very difficult to read such thing, even with a dictionary for foreigns sorted out in romaji.