Rules of writing hangul

< Previous | Next >

COF

English - English
I started learning Korean a week ago and I'm now starting to get to know each letter of the hangul and write it and spell it out, but the problem is, I don't understand the concept of stacking the hangul on top of eachother or how to do it correctly.

Can anyone explain?

• instantREILLY

USA (English)
    It's somewhat hard to explain, but rather something you just kind of have to feel. The entire concept is really this:

strokes < letters/characters < syllables < words < sentences

This idea is basically the same in every language, but in Korean it is very visible. We're just gonna focus on how letters relate to syllables.

All you really need to know, is that the placement of letters in a stack all starts with the vowel.

This is easy, because there may only be one vowel sound per syllable.

Here is a chart of the Korean vowel sounds.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v636/exclamasean/hangulvowels.jpg

The actual vowel is in red, while the Korean consonant "iûng" (the little circle guy) is used as a place-holder. You'll see that certain vowels are horizontal (like "o" and "yu" and "û"), while others are more vertically shaped (like "a" and "yô" and "i").

If the vowel is horizontal ... put the consonant next to it.
    If the vowel is vertical ... put the consonant beneath it.

You'll see that dipthongs (two vowels put together to form one vowel sound) have their consonants placed to the top left. This helps to illustrate the idea that a vowel may never begin a syllable.

But what if the syllable is just "a"? Or just "o"?