saying 4³ [four powered three / four power three?]

< Previous | Next >

Godo159

Spanish - Spain
Hi, I'm a teacher in a bilingual program, and we have a doubt with maths language. I know that you can read aloud 4³ as "four cubed", "four raised to the third power", and "four to the third". Also, SolAguila told me that he says "four to the power of three".

My question is, can you read it as "four powered three" or "four power three", too? What is the simplest form that you used when you were at school?

• PaulQ

UK
    English - England
    "Can you read it as "four powered three" or "four power three", too?" No, you can't.
    What is the simplest form that you used when you were at school? "Four cubed."

Florentia52

Modwoman in the attic
    English - United States
    In AE, we coud say "four to the power of three," as you have discovered. I have never heard "four powered three" or "four power three." Those would sound odd to me.

We always said "four cubed" when I was in school, but that was some time ago.

heypresto

English - England
    No, I'm afraid we don't use either "four powered three" or "four power three".

All the other ways you know for describing
    4³ are fine, with "four cubed" being the simplest.

Cross-posted.

waltern

English - USA
    The form I heard most often (setting aside "cubed" or "squared") was along the lines of "four to the third" - for example when using scientific notation, 2.1x10^-6 would be read "two point one times ten to the minus sixth".

PaulQ

UK
    English - England
    Interesting, I would take 2.1x10^-6 as "two point one times ten to the minus six.", although 4^4 would be "four to the fourth." -> "X^Y = X to the Yth" For me, the 'minus' causes the number to revert to the cardinal.

Godo159

Spanish - Spain