scare quotes

tsoapm

Senior Member
English (England)
Hello,

Is there an equivalent Italian term for the concept of square quotes? That it, the use of quotation marks to distance the writer from the matter enclosed in the quotes?

As the Chicago Manual of Style has it:
"Quotation marks are often used to alert readers that a term is used in a nonstandard, ironic, or other special sense [...] They imply 'This is not my term' or 'This is not how the term is usually applied.' Like any such device, scare quotes lose their force and irritate readers if overused."
And to borrow an example I found on the web:
Almost all 'asylum seekers' are economic migrants.
The quotation marks here imply that they’re not really in need of asylum at all, and just exploiting the system.

Thanks
Mark

Last edited:
  • QueSaràh

Member
    Italian
    Non sono un'esperta linguista, ma d'istinto appena ho visto il tuo post ho pensato al termine VIRGOLETTATO.
    So che WR ne da questa definizione (http://www.wordreference.com/definizione/virgolettato) ma "a pelle" (virgolettato [non] voluto;)?) io lo intendo più in senso ironico/sarcastico/caustico, come evidenziato, per esempio, da questi link:
    http://ricerca.repubblica.it/repubblica/archivio/repubblica/2010/11/10/virgolettato.html
    http://www.mantellini.it/2013/03/01/larte-del-virgolettato/
    ossia una deriva che assume un significato proprio dello strumento grafico neutro (citando dal primo link postato:
    Le virgolette restano l' ultima paratia fra il detto e il lasciato trapelare, l' ufficiale e l' ufficioso, la dichiarazione e l' allusione
    )

Però aspettiamo pareri più autorevoli!:eek:

TheNameOfAWind

Senior Member
    Italian
    Ciao, Mark!