School Work or Schoolwork?

Dori1984

Croatian
I work as an English teacher and have been taught the correct way of writing it is Schoolwork. However, I worked as a substitute teacher and children told me their teacher taught them to write School Work and now I'm quite confused. Let me explain this: sometimes when we do an exercise and children have to put a title in their notebooks we, English teachers in my country, tell them to write Schoolwork (or School Work) as a title. Which one is correct?

• The Newt

English - US
    In general we would think of "schoolwork" as one word, although we could separate it into two words if there were a particular reason to do so. I'm less clear as to why you're using "schoolwork" as the title of a specific exercise.

Hi.

This is tricky because I think it gets into not just language issues but perhaps cultural differences as well.

I also would think of 'schoolwork" as one word. On the other hand, I'm not sure what it means. :rolleyes:

Is that something that needs to be tracked as "work done at school" as opposed to "homework"?

Naturally, only the use of it as a title would justify capitalization.

Dori1984

Croatian
    I know it's tricky and it's hard to explain it. I don't really trust this teacher in whose class I taught because, in my opinion, she isn't fully qualified to be a teacher.
    To explain this title, I'll use this: if there is a specific lesson to be taught, for example A World Today and a World Tomorrow, then we would write it as a title. If we aren't doing it but, for example, practise vocabulary, we'd write Schoolwork or School Work. Does it make any sense?

Egmont

English - U.S.
    ... if there is a specific lesson to be taught, for example A World Today and a World Tomorrow, then we would write it as a title. If we aren't doing it but, for example, practise vocabulary, we'd write Schoolwork or School Work. Does it make any sense?