Sensi vattene (graffiti)

DesertCat

inglese | English
I recently visited Italy and took a lot of the photos. One of the building photos has the following graffiti:

sensi vattene!

I gather from my google searches it means "get lost" but I'm unclear on who (or what) this would be referring to. There was another bit of graffiti "irlanda libera" which I assume is "free Ireland" but I didn't think the two were related as the writing style and color weren't the same.

~Alice

P.S. I'm only a beginning student of the Italian language

• Italian Girl

Italy Italian
    Dear DesertCat, Sensi is the chairman of Roma football team and vattene means go away! Clearly the person who wrote that doesn't appreciate Sensi's politics in football and want him to retire! Bye and good luck with your studies of Italian! :)

DesertCat

inglese | English
    I have another one that is "*&#$% lazio" (where *&$% is saying that lazio is no good) but is Lazio a person or city. I believe this one is also soccer related. It would seem some Italian are passionate about their soccer. :)

I'm determined to learn Italian in spite of the fact I'm 45 and have no memory so it's not easy for me. While I enjoyed my trip to Italy immensly I felt like I would have gotten more out of it if I spoke better Italian. I'm planning to go to one of the schools for immersion lessons next year.

~Alice

Italian Girl

Italy Italian
    Yes, Lazio is the other soccer team of Rome, and those symbols before the name probably stand for a swear word that I cannot write here! Supporters tend to be very passionate in Italy, especially against opponent teams! Glad you want to learn Italian, I'll help you as much as I can in this forum!

carlafed

Italian
    Hi Alice
    Lazio is the region where Roma is located and it is also the name of the second soccer team of Rome (the first is simply called Roma). Yes, some Italian are extremely passionate for soccer, rather crazy I would say ;-))