She said she studied English.

< Previous | Next >

britneyM

Banned
Japan Japanese
Can s1 mean the same thing as s2? Or is it possible to use s1 instead of s2?
s1: She said she studied English.
s2: She said she had studied English.

Thank you.

• britneyM

Banned
    Japan Japanese
    Sorry.
    My English is so poor and I can't understand the meaning of "Not really no."
    Would you please say that in other words?

britneyM

Banned
    Japan Japanese
    Hello panjandrum,

Do you mean it's incorrect, in formal writing or formal speaking, to use s1 isntead of s2 ? And do you mean some people somtimes use s1 instead of s2 in casual writing or speaking?

Asr

Turquie :)
    Hi,

It is reported speech. So you report what someone says in past tense; you go back a tense.

"I study English" Mark said. --- Mark said he studied English.

"I studied English" Mark said. --- Mark said he had studied English.

You see the difference? The first sentence conveys that Marks still studies English, while according to the second one he no longer does. I am not a native speaker but I hope this helps a bit.

Lexiphile

England English
    Hello Britney,
    since NZ has gone to bed, and Panj is having lunch, I shall answer for them.

"Not really no." Written like this, it means "more or less no, but not quite no." But that isn't what NZ intended. What he meant to write was "not really, no." (In New Zealand, the sheep have eaten most of the commas, so the residents have to use them very sparingly :)). With the comma, it means the same as "not only no, but hell no!".

Yes, sometimes people use s1 in casual writing instead of s2.