Si vis pacem, para bellum

saalik

Banned
Urdu - Pakistan
I am a beginner in Latin and had a question. The word "parare" means "to make ready". Why do people translate "Si vis pacem, para bellum" as "If you want peace, prepare for war"?
It should have been "If you want peace, make war ready." (or "make ready war")

• saalik

Banned
    Urdu - Pakistan
    So I guess the reflexive pronoun "suum" was omitted.
    It was originally "Si vis pacem, para suum bellum."
    But in that case "bellum" should have been in the dative case, since the meaning is, as you put it, "Make oneself ready for war."

Copperknickers

Scotland - Scots and English
    I am a beginner in Latin and had a question. The word "parare" means "to make ready". Why do people translate "Si vis pacem, para bellum" as "If you want peace, prepare for war"?
    It should have been "If you want peace, make war ready." (or "make ready war")
    'parare bellum' is simply the Latin way of saying 'prepare for war'. It does literally say 'prepare war' but that is not proper English. We have to add the word 'for' to translate it accurately, but this is perfectly well conveyed in Latin by the accusative case on its own. Sometimes you see sentences like '“ad proelium vos parate,” - "prepare yourself for battle" (Curtius Rufus) or “parantibus utrisque se ad proelium,” - "both sides were preparing themselves for battle" (Livy). But 'si vis pacem, para bellum', being an aphorism, dispenses with all unnecessary words. The word 'vis' implies 'you' so 'para te bellum' is unnecessary, as is 'ad bellum', since 'ad' is very often optional outside certain specific contexts. You could write it out as 'si tu vis pacem, para te ad bellum'* if you need help imagining all the different elements implied in the grammar, but in idiomatic Latin 'si vis pacem, para bellum' sounds a lot better.