Similarities between Iranian Persian and Tajik

< Previous | Next >
Just how similar are they?
From looking at the dictionary I can infer some rough basic rules: like substituting a for o, e for i, o for u but how far do the differences in grammar and vocabulary go? Will I, let us say, be able to understand Iranians and will they be able to understand me on the basis of my knowledge of Tajik?

• Bienvenidos

USA
    English
    This is a very interesting topic...as far as I know Eastern Persian is closer to the Tajik (of course I may be wrong). It's like a Spanish speaker speaking to an Italian....thinks work out in the end.

I'm no expert on this topic, but that's my two cents.

roh3x2n

Fars
    I don't think there is a big different between them.
    Tajik is also a dialect of Farsi.
    There is no change in grammar. Yeah some local words are differenced.
    Of course if you learn Tajiki, you would understand all Farsi Dialect.
    But Farsi Pronunciation is really difficult for foreigners

MarcB

US English
    The Iranian and Afghanistan varients of Pesrian use the Persoarabic alphabet, Tadjik uses the Cyrilic.

Spectre scolaire

Maltese and Russian
    One critical difference would perhaps be the way in which the two languages have enriched their respective vocabularies. This seems to be a relevant argument for a number of language cases in which two national languages are basically the same, but through factors like national borders, religion and/or supra-national ideology they have been split into two. Take Serbian and Croatian, Hindi and Urdu, North and South Korean, German and Yiddish, North and South Ossetic – and the present thread.