Slovak: Gymnázium

natasha2000

Suane said:
It must be perfect to know how to write both way. I wish I was learnt how to write in cyrillic in childhood too. Then it will be natural for me. I don't like that in my scholl (Gymnazium, High school) we don't have the opportunity to study some cyrillic language. Do you have also Gymnazium in your country? In USA Gymnasium means the place where you exercise. So when I tell someone that I studied on one, it has to sound quite weird.

Yes, as a matter of fact, I agree with you on that. It makes learning of a foreign language easier. At least at the beginning...:)

I think you are making a mistake as far as a Gymnasium...
In Serbian, we also call the secondary school Gimnazija, but if you say like this in English, you will be misunderstood as you are now. I think that what in Serbian is gimnazija and in your language "Gymnasium"(I suppose this is your translation to English, I don't know Slovak word, sorry) in English is college. Preparatory courses for University. And in English as in Spanish (gimnasio) means a place where you go to practice sports.

• Suane

Slovakia
    natasha2000 said:
    Yes, as a matter of fact, I agree with you on that. It makes learning of a foreign language easier. At least at the beginning...:)

I think you are making a mistake as far as a Gymnasium...
    In Serbian, we also call the secondary school Gimnazija, but if you say like this in English, you will be misunderstood as you are now. I think that what in Serbian is gimnazija and in your language "Gymnasium"(I suppose this is your translation to English, I don't know Slovak word, sorry) in English is college. Preparatory courses for University. And in English as in Spanish (gimnasio) means a place where you go to practice sports.