Sorry (used in German)

kency

English - SE England
I have heard some German people use the English word "sorry" in conversation with other Germans.

In what context is "sorry" normally used in place of "Es tut mir Leid" and "Entschuldigung (Sie bitte)"? Is it very common?

• twinklestar

Chinese
    I assume this is influenced by American/English movies/culture, and it is generally said in colloquial by younger people. :D

The pronunciations of "Es tut mir Leid" and "Entschuldigung" are more complex than that of "sorry". (Edit:so they prefer "sorry".)

This happens in Chinese too, but "sorry" is not as common as "bye" in English in Chinese conversation. Sometimes I heard Chinese white-collar workers would say "sorry" in English.

Of course, I am just a beginner of German, so I am waiting along with you for the comments of gurus of German. Interesting question.

Last edited:

Hutschi

You are right, twinklestar. I can confirm it.
    "Younger" is relative, however.
    And it depends on social groups, too.

So it is rather common, but far away from "hallo", for example. "Hallo" (spoken English or German) is used a lot, even in shops by the sellers. Compared to that "Sorry" is very seldom.

Frieder

If you bump into someone by accident (not in road traffic) you need a succinct expression that won't keep you from doing what you were going to do. So you mumble "sorry" or (as I often do) "pardon" (French pronunciation). The shortest German words have at least two syllables ('tschuldigung, 'zeihung – short for Entschuldigung and Verzeihung), so for lack of time and/or out of sheer laziness they're going out of fashion.

twinklestar

Chinese
    Thank you both, Hutschi and Frieder.:)

Besides that, I feel "sorry" can downplay the formality of the apology for minor issue, and ""Es tut mir Leid" and "Entschuldigung" is formal comparing to "sorry".