Stop a bit! or Watch it now!

< Previous | Next >

onitamo

Serbo-Croatian
Please tell me which of 2 phrases written with bold letters, suits more?

Stop a bit!
If you don't bring that money along, sure enough I'll skin you, blessed if I don't.
or
Watch it now! If you don't bring that money along, sure enough I'll skin you, blessed if I don't.

• sdgraham

USA English
    Both highlighted expressions seem extremely unnatural to me (AE).

.... as does the rest of the sentence. :eek:

Last edited:

Sparky Malarky

English - US
    "...I'll skin you, blessed if I don't" sounds British (or possibly Irish as e2efour says). I am not an expert on British English, but I have heard "Watch it!" "Watch out!" and many variations of this all my life. I've never heard "Stop a bit!"

Edinburgher

German/English bilingual
    There are elements in here which are all perfectly OK, in an appropriate context, but if you put them all together, they don't make sense. The whole is less than the sum of its parts. Normally, in language, we want it to be more. :(

onitamo

Serbo-Croatian
    Thank you, I see it is not only for me uncommon.:)
    I found it in this translation of story of Leo Tolstoy
    http://www.readbookonline.net/readOnLine/6373/
    and trusted that the story is properly English translated.(better then I could do it)
    I am using it as base to write English subtitles on Russian film of the same story.
    A man is just remembering what wife could say ..

(and this expression "I'll skin you" is little to sharp for my understanding..for such situation..wife telling to husband..) Is there some alternative phrase for such case?

here is more text of his thoughts :(He didn't get money from people who were in debt to him, and could not bye sheepskin coat)