strong current / weak current

bloomiegirl

US English
In the domain of electronics (semiconductors), what is meant by "strong current" and "weak current"? I'm no scientist, but even I can tell from the following sentence that it's not "high voltage" and "low voltage":

"The result of this is that breakdown can occur at a lower voltage in the case of a strong current than in the case of a weak current."​

Of course you're wondering what "this" is. Again, I'm no scientist, so here's the website where I found this. It's very dense, at least for me.

Any help is appreciated, but I think this is a question for the techies.

Thank you in advance.

Edit: Also, are strong/weak current different from high/low current? (Perhaps these last two are the same as high/low voltage? But I'm just guessing.) And again, thank you in advcance!

Last edited:
  • liliput

U.K. English
    Voltage is the difference in electrical potential between two points and is measured in Volts.

Current is the flow of electrons, measured in Amps. Presumably if there is a slow flow-rate of electrons then you have a weak current.

Voltage = Current x Resistance

Wattage (Power) = Voltage x Current

Last edited:

panjandrum

Lapsed Moderator
    English-Ireland (top end)
    This is a rather peculiar and esoteric world.
    My initial response, as a one-time electronic engineer, was that there is no such thing as a strong current or a weak current.
    However, from reading the article, these terms seem to be used to distinguish between an electric current that flows through a relatively small area of the semiconductor (strong current) and the same current flowing through a larger area (weak current). The source also refers to "an increase in the current density".