student of? student at?

Paty.Sol

Spanish
Hi everyone :)

I have a really big doubt...
What is the correct one?

Profile: International Business student at San Ignacio de Loyola University. An easily adaptable, conscientious, enthusiastic, and self-motivated individual.

Profile: International Business student of San Ignacio de Loyola University. An easily adaptable, conscientious, enthusiastic, and self-motivated individual.

student of or student at?
"Individual" is the accurate word to use here or not?

• Top Gun

English
    Hello

student at San Ignacio is correct
    "at" refers to a place in this sentence.

"of" would be incorrect because you would use it describing a field of education.

Ex: I am a student of law.

But the more common way to say that would be, I am a law student.

Poquoson711

English - USA
    But in this particular instance, it's the institution.

Yes, I understand that. I just wanted to show the using "student of" can be correct in a different context. In summary...

• Student at a given university.
    • Student of a given professor.
    • Student of a given course of study.
    Did I miss any other uses?

Yes, I understand that. I just wanted to show the using "student of" can be correct in a different context. In summary...

• Student at a given university.
    • Student of a given professor.
    • Student of a given course of study.
    Did I miss any other uses?

No, but note that to say "I am a student of Dr. Johnson" would indicate that Dr. Johnson was not your teacher, but was instead the subject that you studied (for example, you were studying the literary works of the 18th Century English writer, Dr. Samuel Johnson.) If Dr. Johnson is your teacher, rather than the subject of your studies, you need to use the possessive form and say "I am a student of Dr. Johnson's", or "I am one of Dr. Johnson's students."

Poquoson711

English - USA