study 'at /in' school

Moninha

Portuguese - Brazil
Which is the right sentence?
We studied at a small school in the neighborhood.
or
We studied in a small school in the neighborhood.
Thanks.

• Imber Ranae

English - USA
    There's a difference in meaning. "Studied at" means that you are enrolled in the school and regularly attend classes there, whereas "studied in" merely suggests that you study (i.e. do research/homework/etc.) somewhere inside the building. I think the latter is what you intend for your sentence.

Moninha

Portuguese - Brazil
    The sentence is part of a small text in which I should find a certain number of mistakes. As I have found all other mistakes, I thought that in the sentence I quoted I should use "in" instead of "at" (as it is in the text), since the school is not specified/defined (ex: I studied at St. Patrick school). It would be any school (I studied in a small school).
    Could it be?

Imber Ranae

English - USA
    I won't pretend to speak authoritatively, but I would still expect "at" even for an unnamed school if the meaning of "studied" is "attending/enrolled in".

cuchuflete

EEUU-inglés
    More help might be found here: study the lesson in / at the school.

Oi, Moninha, if you would give us more of the text, we should be able to verify which is the most appropriate.
    If one is enrolled at [or in] a school, then at is probably the better choice.

Last edited:

kitenok

I agree with Imber's post above, Monhinha. "Studied in" only shifts the emphasis to the building itself as the location of the studying. I don't think there are any errors in the original sentence with "at."

And one thing I forgot in my first post - welcome to the forums!

YPY

Spanish (Latin American)
    Hello. It's me again.

The context is a strange "story" that I'm writing :)

"Three little dogs that studied in (or at?) one of the schools were sick and tired of the (or this?) situation..."

Is it ok?

Thanks in advance

YPY

Spanish (Latin American)