Suggestions for reading material to improve reading speed and comprehension

άρτος

English
I have been learning Modern Greek for several years and I am looking for suggestions for material to help me improve my reading speed and comprehension.

I have been reading poetry, listening to songs and reading some key modern literary texts (slowly!) but I'm after something lighter with interesting stories. Maybe crime, thrillers? Someone suggested children's books, but they don't really appeal.

Any ideas?

• dmtrs

Greek
    I've proposed this on another thread sometime ago: a good way to read literature with a more or less everyday language and avoid the writers' mannerisms is to go for foreign literature translated into Greek. You miss the cultural element of reading Greek literature, of course, but you gain in terms of language and you can have a huge variety of books to chose from. Especially for English speaking people, the choices of books originally written in their own language are practically innumerable and can satisfy any taste -in fact, literature is not the only option; you can read history, politics or whatever.

lentulax

UK English