Syrian Colloquial: How much?

Josh_

U.S., English
I recently learned that the way to say how much in Syrian colloquial is 2addaysh (I guess it would be spelled قدّيش ) and is from the root ف - د - د . My question is is this more comon than "kam'? Also, if I wanted to say "what time is it?" would it be "2addaysh is-saa3a?"

• ayed

Arabic(Saudi)
    Josh Adkins said:
    I recently learned that the way to say how much in Syrian colloquial is 2addaysh (I guess it would be spelled قدّيش ) and is from the root ف - د - د . My question is is this more comon than "kam'? Also, if I wanted to say "what time is it?" would it be "2addaysh is-saa3a?"
    Sure !It is common to say so than to say
    Qad-daish al-wa'it? though they are both correct

cherine

Arabic (Egypt).
    Josh Adkins said:
    I'm not very good at the other dialects, but I think the word قدّيش is 2 words : قدّ - إيش like the Egyptian قد - إيه .
    I think you meant the root was ق - د - د ? I'm not sure it's correct, I tend to think that the word 2add (at least in Egyptian) is a shorter form of قـَـدْر .

Hopefully Zooz or Elroy , or others who know Syrian, could give their opinions.

Josh_

U.S., English
    Yes, of course, it is two words. I should have known that.:eek:

That was a typo. Yes, it may be have come from قدر originially, but appears to have come into its own. Who knows? In an Egyptian Arabic dictionary that I have it is listed under the root ق-د-د .

zooz

Arabic & Syrian Arabic
    قديش & كام can be used interchangeably in the daily speaking. I see no difference between them. They can be used also with the preposition: بقديش ، بكام

قدِّيشْ / كَامْ التَكْلُفِة الاجْماليِّة ؟
    بقدّيشْ / بكَامْ اليورو اليوم؟

شو
    is usually used as well: شو سعر القطعة؟

Same thing goes for the time, as you said:
    قديش / كام / شو الساعة؟

Mind you بقديش / بكام الساعة is a question about the fee of an hour of something (internet cafe...etc.).

elroy

Imperfect Mod