Taipei 101 is taller than X in Taiwan

Chinese Su

Chinese
I am studying the comparative/superlative. For example,

"Taipei 101 is the tallest building in Taiwan. Taipei 101 is taller than ________ in Taiwan."

Question: Is it correct and idiomatic to fill the gap using ...

A: all of the other buildings OR all of the others

B: all the other buildings OR all the others

C: all other buildings OR all others

I am sure that all the other buildings is fine, but not certain about the others.

Also, I am wondering if it is fine to omit "other" in the first parts of all three options.

Thank you :)

Last edited:
  • Chinese Su

Chinese
    The first part of A, B and C is correct; the second part is wrong.

You mustn't omit "other", or else it will mean "Taipei 101 is taller than Taipei 101" :confused:.
    Thank you for your reply, Keith Bradford! I agree with you that omitting "other" won't work in this sentence :D

But why is the second part of A, B and C wrong? Will it be otherwise correct if I edit the sentence as the following? Thank you :)

"Taipei 101 is the tallest building in Taiwan. The building Taipei 101 is taller than ________ in Taiwan."
    Our product is better than all other products:tick:
    Our product is better than all others:tick:.
    any other vs any others

Last edited:

Keith Bradford

English (Midlands UK)
    That's right. If you don't have the word building (or construction, block, tower, skyscraper etc.) in the second part, then there's nothing for other to refer to. And if there's nothing there, we'd assume that it refers to person!

He is taller than any other in his class. :tick: (We understand other person.)
    My house is taller than any other in the street. :tick: (It's explicit: other house.)
    No.7 is taller than any other in the street. :cross: (Any other what? Person, house, number 7 ????)

Chinese Su

Chinese