tense

azz

armenian
a. The last time I had met her, I had told her that I was a student.

b. The last time I had met her, I told her that I was a student.

Which sentence has the right tense?

• Artrella

Banned
    BA
    Spanish-Argentina
    azz said:
    a. The last time I had met her, I had told her that I was a student.

b. The last time I had met her, I told her that I wasa student.

Which sentence has the right tense?

Hi azz :p !!!

I'd say the first one is correct. Although it's sounds strange to my non-native ears.

I'd say " The last time I met her, I told her I was a student"

In the second sentence the event of meeting her is previous to that one of telling her ?? :arrow: so it seems that you must use the past perfect in both parts of the sentence.

Let's wait for the natives... :thumbsup: :idea: :thumbsup:

azz

armenian
    Hi Artella and The Tree,

The thing is that I want to keep the past perfect in the time clause.

On that sunny April day, I was walking to Clara's place. I was supposed to be there at three o'clock in the afternoon and I was afraid I might be late.
    a. The last time I had seen her, I had been late a bit and she had taken it very badly.
    b. The last time I had seen her, I was late a bit and she took it very badly.

Lora

UK, English
    I would say,
    The last time I saw her, I was a bit late and she took it very badly.

I don't think a) is right...I don't understand why you're using the pluperfect....might need a minute or two to think about that.

Nick

USA, English
    I think choice A is correct (past perfect in all cases) but that what Lora suggested sounds much more natural (no past perfect). I don't know whether it is acceptable to mix past perfect with simple past.

azz

armenian
    Hi Lora and Nick,
    I wonder if the simple past would work in that context.

I saw her 8 months ago. Then I saw her three months later. The last time I saw her was a week ago.