The Chernobylskis

leonestdebil

Fr & NL
hello again!
i'm still studying englished versions of Nabokov russian stories and i came across a family with a perplexing name -the Chernobylskis. the story has been written in russian in the 1930's and translated into english in the early 1970's so there is no way that the name could be connected with the nuclear plant. what would the russian speaker make of that name then? (ok i know it's not the first question i ask on that topic, i'm just starting russian and i've ordered a book about russian names in modern literature... but it's taking ages to actually come within access) is it another common pointless name or does it have any connotation?
thanks A LOT for any suggestion
L.

• Eddie

USA - English
    Hi, Leon.

I can't answer the question as to why the word was used as a last name, but I can pass this little piece of information on to you.

Chernobyl is the Russian name of a plant which in English is called: mugwort. That's why you shouldn't be surprised to see the word being used before the construction of the nuclear plant.

Definition: http://www.answers.com/topic/mugwort

Hope that helps.

Thomas1

polszczyzna warszawska
    :idea: Chernobyl it's not only the the nuclear accident, it is a city in Ukraine as well so 'the Chernobylskis' can be somehow associated with this city me think, maybe they lived nearby the city or the acton of the novel you are reading is somehow connected with it.

Regards,
    Thomas

Thomas1

polszczyzna warszawska
    i've found sth that may interest you :

Chernobyl
    Name origin

The city is named after the Ukrainian word for mugwort Artemisia vulgaris), which is "chornobyl". The word is a combination of chornyi (чорний, black) and byllia (билля, grass blades or stalks), hence it literally means black grass or black stalks.