the gladiator on his back foot

< Previous | Next >
  • Trisia

Romanian
    Hello, welcome to the forums! :D

Please try to give us more context - where did you read/hear this?

What do you suppose it could mean?

AWordLover

USA English
    Would you please explain me what does it mean:"The gladiator on his back foot!"
    Hi,
    We could use a hint, but I enjoy guessing into a mystery.

a) It doesn't mean anything and is a transcription error.
    b) The gladiator instead of pushing forward is being forced back, his weight has shifted to his back foot. Perhaps he is being forced to retreat. We have an expression where we say X is on his heels, meaning that he is being forced to retreat or has been confronted with a difficult or unexpected situation.
    c) Yes, I don't know. :D

Packard

USA, English
    As a portrait photographer I get called on this phrase "back foot" frequently.

Obviously people have left and right feet. Very few have front and rear feet.

I give posing directions telling people to move their "front foot" to the left or the right, etc. "Front foot" is the foot nearer to me (the photographer).

A gladiator might take a stance like a fencer and have a "front" and "back" foot. If he were "on his back foot", i.e., his weight was on his rear leg, then he would not be in a position to make a lethal lunge.

(If any of the dear readers out there are quadrupeds, I apologize if I have insulted you.)

lili1351

italy
    Thank you all my friends.
    I found this phrase in a text about metaphor therapy.
    "when I'm angry it is like a gladiator on the back footwith a trident.

nichec

Chinese(Taiwan)/English(AE)
    Thank you all my friends.
    I found this phrase in a text about metaphor therapy.
    "when I'm angry it is like a gladiator on the back footwith a trident.
    :D
    Hehehehehe......So the "back foot" goes with "with a trident", not "a gladiator"

A trident has three feet, not a gladiator:D