the honor < of serving as / to serve as >

< Previous | Next >

Irina777555777

Russian
what would you say about ´have the right/honor/Intention/opportunity to inf´ and ´of ing´?
examples:
Here, you will have the opportunity to present your company to thousands of German-speaking authors, publishers, literature fans, translators and media professionals.
They host most of the major German literature events. Fans of literature have the unique opportunity to meet the writers and familiarise themselves with their most recent work.

To finish off, you will also have the opportunity of recruiting your future members of staff whilst enjoying the magical, invigorating and inspirational atmosphere of the Leipzig Book Fair.

For those who don’t know me yet, my name is Irina Röttger, I am a German teacher by profession but I also have the honor of serving as (why not to serve as ..) the Chairman of our teacher association.

in a grammer book I came across: The charterers have the right of loading (= the right to load) the steamer at night time. I have no intention of doing it (=no intention to do it).

Now I m curious whether there is no any difference and both are interchangeable or the meaning of the sentence changes.

• PaulQ

UK
    English - England
    For those who don’t know me yet, my name is Irina Röttger, I am a German teacher by profession but I also have the honor of serving as (why not to serve as ..) the Chairman of our teacher association.
    Both “I also have the honor of serving” and “to serve as …” are possible for historical reasons concerned with Old English and the use of the dative case.

In Old English “I also have the honor of serving” would be expressed as “I also have the honor of the service” and the word for “service” (ambiht) would have a dative ending “-ene” (ambehtene)

The –ene (and other dative endings) then did two things:
    (i)
    It became –ing to form what we now know as a gerund/participle/-ing form