The man is expected to seem to be dead.

leg0181

Korean

I have two questions about the sentence:

1) Is the above sentence grammatically correct?
2) Does it sound OK, meaning-wise?

If it doesn't, please try explaining the nonsense. (My guess is the verb 'expect' doesn't go well with 'seem' )

• grassy

Polish
    Source and context, please. If you're the author of the sentence, what is the intended meaning?

Last edited:

leg0181

Korean
    Well, I am afraid there is no context since I am studying a syntax.
    Could YOU think of any context in which the sentence is used? If you find it hard, guess the sentence is wrong in terms of meaning.

However, regarding grammar, the sentence seems fine to me. What you do think?

Packard

USA, English
    It might be grammatically correct, but it is incomprehensible. Please explain what you are trying to convey.

You thought the man should be dead.
    You thought the man looked dead.
    You anticipated that the man was dead.
    Other...

velisarius

British English (Sussex)
    The actor is expected to pretend to be dead.
    The construction is the same. (People) expect the man to seem to be dead. There is a problem with "expecting someone to do something (an act of will)" and "seem to be dead", which is to do with other people's perception of the man.

entangledbank

English - South-East England
    Well, the sentence seems to be expected to be grammatical. If there could be a situation where it had an actual use, there's no objection to it.

Packard

USA, English
    The actor is expected to pretend to be dead.
    The construction is the same. (People) expect the man to seem to be dead. There is a problem with "expecting someone to do something (an act of will)" and "seem to be dead", which is to do with other people's perception of the man.
    This is a better expression of my complaint that the sentence was incomprehensible. I still don't know exactly what the intended meaning is.

Steven David