To blaze the sky

< Previous | Next >
Status
Not open for further replies.

AuréienIMA

french
Hello everybody, I am a french student and for a class project, I have to explain in english the expression "the pilot (of the airplane) blazes the sky",but I don't find the explaination. Is there someone to help me?

• AuréienIMA

french
    There is not the word "across" after the verb blaze. Someone said me it is use to describe the movement of a rocket, a meteor or a plane/jet.

MissFit

The word blaze does not require the preposition "across." This means that the pilot is flying rapidly across the sky leaving a jet trail. A jet trail is that white cloud-like line that is drawn across the sky by the jet exhaust.

To blaze in general means to mark a pathway. Hiking trails are blazed by marking a line of white paint across a tree at intervals along the trail. Those marks are called blazes. A trailblazer is the person who first creates a trail. The line of white down the middle of the face of some horses (and other animals) is also called a blaze.

difficult cuss

English England
    Hi MissFit,
    Blaze does indeed not require "across" in the examples you gave, but surely the pilot can not blaze the sky?
    He can only blaze a part of it, to leave a trail...therefore he blazed a trail, or perhaps he blazed across/through the sky ...meaning rather than leaving a trail, he carries the blaze (the short tail of flame behind the plane) with him.
    One could ...blaze a trail on the ground, but not blaze the ground...could one?

Maybe I'm being too literal, but to me the sky itself can not "blaze".
    If I've misunderstood, could you be so kind as to explain it to me?

MissFit

Hi MissFit,
    Blaze does indeed not require "across" in the examples you gave, but surely the pilot can not blaze the sky?