to "preoccupy"

< Previous | Next >
  • owlman5

English-US
    That statement sure doesn't make any sense to me, Mateusz. Are you trying to say that the antitoxin is effective against most poisonous substances except the venom of this snake?

MateuszMoś

Yes, I crave to say so. Is there eventuality to say that the antitoxin preoccupies( has such an ability) the poisonous substances.
    In other words, Does "to preoccupy" work as to "absorb" in this context?

pops91710

English, AE
    I don't think it can preoccupy unless it is there before the poisonous substance is introduced to the bloodstream. Inasmuch as preoccupy implies occupation before, and antitoxins are usually introduced after a snake bite( whatever). But I am no doctor.

However, it seems to me your question is best put forth in the medical forums to see if it fits into the typical medical jargon. In other words, is it apposite in medical jargon?

owlman5

English-US
    "Preoccupy" won't work to mean "absorb", Mateusz. Somebody might use it to mean that the antidote blocked chemical receptors or something similar, but that would be a technical use of the term that many wouldn't understand.

MateuszMoś

I don't think it can preoccupy unless it is there before the poisonous substance is introduced to the bloodstream. Inasmuch as preoccupy implies occupation before, and antitoxins are usually introduced after a snake bite( whatever). But I am no doctor.

However, it seems to me your question is best put forth in the medical forums to see if it fits into the typical medical jargon. In other words, is it apposite in medical jargon?

Isn't appropriate "antipodes" of apposite ?
    Thanks for the answers.

Last edited:

EStjarn

Spanish
    Does "to preoccupy" work as to "absorb" in this context?