to sprinkle the stardust

ekbatana

German Austria
I came accross this in connection with England's unsuccsessful FIFA bid with one of the reporters saying that the bidding committe should have sprinkled the stardust.

I found this phrase in connection with sport, saying that the United team sprinkled the stardust, as well as in the below non-sports context:

He was my mentor for preaching. As a young ministerial student, I followed his ministry with great enthusiasm. He could sprinkle the stardust with his oratories.

What exactly does it mean?

• Parla

Member Emeritus
    English - US
    I came across this in connection with England's unsuccessful FIFA bid with one of the reporters saying that the bidding committee should have sprinkled the stardust.

I found this phrase in connection with sport, saying that the United team sprinkled the stardust, as well as in the below non-sports context:

He was my mentor for preaching. As a young ministerial student, I followed his ministry with great enthusiasm. He could sprinkle the stardust with his oratories.

What exactly does it mean?
    I've heard the phrase only a few times, and I've always heard it without "the"--i.e., just "sprinkle stardust". (I've sometimes heard "scatter" rather than "sprinkle".) In my experience, it's used two ways:

(1) To sprinkle stardust = to perform some sort of magic to cause something good to happen (actually, to have a bit of luck). This seems to fit your first two contexts: it was something the committee failed to do, and something that the United team apparently did.

(2) To sprinkle stardust = To persuade someone of something, or persuade someone to do something (such as make a purchase) by glittering promises and descriptions of wonderful results. The implication is that the "stardust" is exaggerated or even deliberately deceptive.

ekbatana

German Austria