Tonal changes not reflected in Pinyin

Capotis

Peruvian Spanish
I'm a Mandarin Chinese beginner, and I see that everytime they give you advice on how to read this language, they tell you to master the 4 tones. Learning the tones is not that hard, but when it comes to read them in sentences is confusing. Am I the only one who thinks that these 4 tones are not helpful?. Let me give a few examples:

nǐ hǎo actually sounds more like ní hào

xǐ shǒu jiān zài nǎ lǐ? sounds more like xí shòu jiān zài nǎ li?

I understand that the intonation may vary when people speak, but the more I listen to sentences, the more confused I get. Is there any rules concerning these changes?
or maybe I'm wrong and need to pay closer attention to the tones?

• MèngDié

Cuando dos palabras del tercer tono están juntas, la primera se vuelve una palabra del segundo tono. Es una regla general. La segunda mantiene el tercer tono. Entonces nǐ hǎo se vuelven hǎo​.

xiaolijie

UK
    English (UK)
    I see that everytime they give you advice on how to read this language, they tell you to master the 4 tones. Learning the tones is not that hard, but when it comes to read them in sentences is confusing.
    The advice they give you is basically correct: you should master the 4 tones. But mastering the 4 tones does not mean just being able to hear them read one by one separately, you'll also need to learn how they may change when put together. A bachelor may behave differently once married, even if it's still the same person :D

Last edited by a moderator:

Capotis

Peruvian Spanish
    Is there a resource o page I can go to that teaches you about those changes? Sure I know what you mean, but I need specifics. All those YouTube videos about the four tones don't mention anything about the subject.

frisby

American English
    nǐ hǎo actually sounds more like ní hào

xǐ shǒu jiān zài nǎ lǐ? sounds more like xí shòu jiān zài nǎ li?