unperm? undo the perm? the opposite of 'get a perm'

< Previous | Next >

Sweetboat

Korean
In our school, it's against the school rule for a student to get a perm.
When I see such a student, I'd like to tell them to change their hairstyle to the original state.

What is the 'the opposite of 'get a perm'?'

For example,

1. Unperm your hair.
2. Get your hair unpermed.
3. Undo the perm.

Umm.

• dojibear

English - Northeast US
    Is it possible to "undo" a perm? The word "perm" is short for "permanent". It is a permanent change in the hair. There is no process for "undoing it".

Getting your hair "straightened" may make sense if the hair was originally "straight", but:

(a) I am not an expert who knows the effect of "straightening" processes. It may not make the hair "like it was originally"

(b) most women's hair was not originally "straight"

Edit: my comments were about schools worldwide, not your school. A "perm" makes some women's hair look like other women's hair looks naturally (with no "perm" or other treatment). The normal hair look depends on race (ethnicity). If your school is in Korea, perhaps very few students have natural curly hair, and perhaps "hair straightening" is an appropriate fix. You can decide that.

Last edited:

Myridon

English - US
    Is it possible to "undo" a perm? The word "perm" is short for "permanent". It is a permanent change in the hair. There is no process for "undoing it".
    Permanents are not "permanent." The effects will be largely gone after a few months.
    It's (sometimes) possible to "undo" a perm by soaking the hair in a large amount of conditioner for a long time. Applying a chemical straightener to a recent permanent is probably the worst thing you can do to your hair.

suzi br

English / England
    In our school, it's against the school rule for a student to get a perm.
    When I see such a student, I'd like to tell them to change their hairstyle to the original state.