Unpostponable, undelayable and undeferrable

< Previous | Next >

rafatcorrea

Portuguese - Brazil
Hi, everyone! I'm brazilian and I'd like to know which of these expressions suits or sounds better for something that "cannot be postponed". I want to say something like The fight against climate change is an irreversible process that cannot be postponed. So, would be correct rewrite this sentence like in the following example: The fight against climate change is an irreversible and undelayable process?

If the answer is "yes", which of the expressions (unpostponable/undelayable/undeferrable) fits better with the sentence?

ps.: sorry for my english, I'm still learning :)

thanks in advance!
Rafael

• Copyright

American English
    Making up new, longer words lessens the impact that shorter, more direct words can have. I like your original, with a deletion:

The fight against climate change cannot be postponed.

Your original – The fight against climate change is an irreversible process that cannot be postponed – says that the "fight" is an irreversible process. That's not true: it can be reversed or stopped in its tracks. What you probably mean is that "climate change" is irreversible, and the "fight" cannot be postponed. In which case, you'd end up with something like: "Climate change is real – and the fight to reverse it cannot be postponed."

rafatcorrea

Portuguese - Brazil
    Making up new, longer words lessens the impact that shorter, more direct words can have. I like your original, with a deletion:

The fight against climate change cannot be postponed.