Unvoiced nasals in Mandarin

< Previous | Next >

SenzaNome

Italiano, 温州话
大家好!
Do Chinese people sometimes pronounce words such as 妈妈 or 那个 with un unvoiced m or n? It often seems to me that they do. The only time I have noticed someone saying 妈妈 with a voiced m, it was to imitate a foreign accent.
Or may it be a regional feature? Here in Italy most Chinese people we hear are 江南人.

• SuperXW

I've zero knowledge of Italian, but I guess we have different concepts about "m" and "n".
    They are called "bilabial nasal" and "alveolar nasal". I think to Chinese, the "bilabial" and "alveolar" part is phenominal, but the "nasal" part is not phenominal.
    We treat the two sounds as "consonants" which don't produce any sound, not even a "nasal sound". For "m", we just close our lips, and for "n", touch the alveolar ridge with our tongues.
    In Chinese, The vowels after "m/n" are the sounding part.
    Maybe in your language, "m" and "n" should produce clear sounds themselves?

One more thing, in Chinese, there's no "m" after a vowel, and the "n" after vowels are usually not very complete.

Ghabi

Cantonese
    Hi Senza! Yes, I've heard that in some Wu dialects there are voiceless nasals (see, for example, this chart), and perhaps the speakers you interact with are speakers of these dialects?

SenzaNome

Italiano, 温州话
    SuperXW, as well In Italian /n/ and /m/ need a vowel to form a syllable. They can not "stand alone". However Italian nasal consonants are always voiced, an average Italian person has probably never pronounced in his life an unvoiced nasal consonant.

Ghabi, yes, most of the speakers I interact with are native Wu speakers, but I am not sure if they are the only ones.
    If standard Mandarin did not have /ʔn/ and /ʔm/ (unvoiced nasal consonants), but only /n/ and /m/ (voiced nasal consonant), a speaker of a dialect such as Wenzhounese, would normally prononce /n/ and /m/, since his native dialect has these sounds.