uoluunt (poetry)

< Previous | Next >

ellicella

Croatian
Hi, I was trying to translate a poem from Latin into English and couldn't find what "uoluunt" means exactly. Does anyone know? Any help or opinions would be welcome as I am no expert whatsoever in Latin nor poetry. :) Many thanks!

Ad reuerendum archiepiscopum strigioniensem in electione sua.
Nouembri 1569

Semper et ingentes dum uoluunt aethera caelos,
Viuat felices transigat atque dies
Antonius, praestans animi uirtute beata,
Vrantius, eloquio non minus ille potens,
Archus et inuigilans speculator Pannonis orae
Strigonii fidus pastor et ipse gregis.
____

To the venerable Archbishop of Esztergom, in honor of his appointment.
November 1569

Forever, as long as the ether moves the mighty skies,
May he live a long and prosperous life -
Antonius, whose virtue of the soul remains unrivaled,
Vrantius, none the less adept with words,
The highest and most vigilant custodian of the Pannonian lands
and the shepherd forever loyal to his Esztergom flock.

• Scholiast

Dear Elicella

Lovely to welcome you here to the Latin Forum at WR.

Yes of course we can oblige, or try to. 'uolunt' is present tense, 3rd person plural, indicative, meaning 'they wish' (from volo, velle). I am guessing, so correct me if I am wrong here, that you have been puzzled by the letter 'u'. The fact is that classical Latin did not distinguish in writing between the vowel 'u' and the consonantal, normally now transcribed as 'v', though pronounced like an English 'w'. My impression about the doubled 'uu' in the inflected termination is that it is an incidental error or orthographic oddity. Does this make enough sense to you?

Σ

ellicella

Croatian
    Is this not uoluunt (=volvunt)?
    Volvo (volvere): roll, tumble
    Many thanks, Agró!
    I made a wild guess it might be related to movement because it refers to ether, but I had no idea what it could be. Thanks again, I will fix the translation accordingly!

Scholiast

Dear Ellicella